The best GPS smartwatch for kids depends on who manages it and how much you want to spend over two years. For the youngest children, the Gabb Watch 3e limits calls and texts to parent-approved contacts and has no browser or social apps. iPhone families should look at the Apple Watch SE 3 with GPS + Cellular, and the lowest confirmed two-year cost belongs to the TickTalk 6 on its $9.99 Essential plan.
How this page is compiled. Features, prices and plan costs come from each maker’s or carrier’s own pages, checked in October 2026. Battery figures are the makers’ claims. We have not tested these watches, and nothing here is a measured result.
| Watch | Price | Monthly plan (carrier) | Calling / texting | SOS | Battery (claimed) | Water rating | Ages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gabb Watch 3e | $229.99 | $12.99 (2-yr), $14.99 (1-yr), $17.99 (no contract), Gabb plan | Calls and texts, approved contacts only (up to 100) | Calls parent or guardian, not 911 | 14-18 hours | IP68 | 5-12 |
| Bark Watch | $12/mo for 24 months | $15, Bark plan | Talk and text; contact approval optional | Emergency call to 911 | Not stated | 5ATM + IP68 | Not stated |
| TickTalk 6 | $169.99 | $9.99 Essential or $19.99 Premium, TickTalk Wireless (AT&T or T-Mobile network) | Voice, video and SMS with approved contacts | Calls emergency contact; 911 in the US | About 48 hours typical | IP68 | 3-12 |
| Verizon Gizmo Watch 4 | $179.99 | $10, Verizon | Calls and video calls, up to 40 trusted contacts | Not confirmed | Up to 3 days | Water-resistant (no rating given) | Not stated |
| Garmin Bounce 2 | $299.99 | $9.99, Garmin plan | Calls, voice messages and texts with parent-approved contacts | Not confirmed | Up to 2 days | Not stated | Not stated |
| Apple Watch SE 3 (GPS + Cellular) | From $299 | Carrier watch plan, e.g. Verizon $15 ($7.50 with a qualifying phone line) | Calls and messages with parent-approved contacts | Emergency SOS | Up to 18 hours | 50 m | Not stated |
| Watch | Device + 24 months of plan |
|---|---|
| TickTalk 6 (Essential) | $409.75 |
| Verizon Gizmo Watch 4 | $419.99 |
| Garmin Bounce 2 | $539.75 |
| Gabb Watch 3e (2-year plan) | $541.75 |
| Bark Watch | $648.00 |
| Apple Watch SE 3 40mm (Verizon, no discount) | $659.00 ($479.00 with the qualifying-line discount) |
Taxes, fees and optional add-ons such as device protection are not included.
The Gabb Watch 3e allows contact only with parent-approved numbers and has no browser or social media. The TickTalk 6 is listed for ages 3-12 and adds video calling.
The Garmin Bounce 2 has a full on-watch keyboard for texting and activity tracking. The Bark Watch lets parents relax contact approval as a child gets older.
Apple Watch SE 3 with GPS + Cellular, set up from a parent’s iPhone. Apple states the child does not need an iPhone.
TickTalk, Gizmo, Garmin and Bark all manage the watch from a parent app on a compatible smartphone. Samsung’s Galaxy Watch for Kids setup requires pairing with a Samsung Galaxy phone.
The TickTalk 6 on the Essential plan, followed closely by the Gizmo Watch 4.
Gabb Watch 3e or Bark Watch. Bark states its watch has no browser, social media or games.
Calls and texts reach parent-approved contacts only, managed in the MyGabb app. Location updates arrive roughly every 15 minutes, so it is not real-time tracking. Focus Mode mutes the watch while keeping guardians and SOS available.
Check Gabb Watch 3e prices on Amazon
A standalone watch with its own number, dual-frequency GPS and the Bark parent app. The device is paid at $12 a month over 24 months alongside the $15 plan, and it is sold only to US families directly by Bark.
Adds video calling, real SMS and School/Focus Mode. TickTalk Wireless runs on AT&T or T-Mobile networks and cannot be added to an existing carrier plan. No contract or activation fee.
Check TickTalk 6 prices on Amazon
Sold through Verizon and managed in the Verizon Family app, with safe zones, school mode and up to 40 trusted contacts. The Gizmo plan is $10 per line per month and is not eligible for Verizon’s watch-line discount.
A 1.2-inch AMOLED watch with calling, texting, voice message transcription, real-time location and temporary geofencing through the Garmin Jr. app. Garmin notes LTE use significantly affects battery life.
Check Garmin Bounce 2 prices on Amazon
Apple recommends this model for children. A parent iPhone 11 or later on iOS 27 is required, plus a cellular plan. Schooltime disables apps during class while still allowing Emergency SOS calls.
Check Apple Watch SE 3 GPS + Cellular prices on Amazon
Yes, for calling, texting and location away from Wi-Fi. Each watch on this page needs its own monthly plan; prices listed here run from $7.50 (Verizon watch line with discount) to $19.99 (TickTalk Premium).
Yes. Gabb, Bark, TickTalk, Gizmo and Garmin use their own parent apps. Of the watches compared here, only the Apple Watch requires a parent iPhone.
The Google Store listed it as out of stock in October 2026, so it is not included here.
Bark, TickTalk (US, enabled in the app) and Apple Watch state 911 or emergency calling. Gabb’s SOS button contacts a parent or guardian only.
For adult watches, see our smartwatch comparison.
Checked 24 October 2026.
Honest reviews and the best value picks, researched for you.
Honest reviews and the best value picks, researched for you.