4 min read 880 words
Last updated:
⏱ 3 min read

Mar 11, 2026

By conner mcdonald

Share:
𝕏
P
f

Disclosure: WearableGearReviews may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through affiliate links in this article. This helps support our work at no additional cost to you. Learn more.
Last updated: October 18, 2026

For a runner who mainly wants long GPS battery life and a light watch for little money, the COROS Pace 3 is the better buy: COROS lists it at $199, at 30 g with a nylon band and up to 38 hours of standard GPS. For a runner who wants the confirmed Garmin coaching toolkit (HRV status, training load, race predictor, running power) and multi-band GPS, the Garmin Forerunner 255 is the stronger choice, at $349.99 on Garmin’s site. Both are still listed by their makers, but each now has a newer sibling at a similar price: the COROS Pace 4 ($249) and the Garmin Forerunner 170 ($299.99). That current pair is compared below as well.

How this page is compiled. Specifications and prices come from each maker’s own pages, checked in October 2026. Battery figures are the makers’ claims. We have not tested these watches, and nothing here is a measured result.

COROS Pace 3, Forerunner 255, Pace 4 and Forerunner 170 compared

Spec COROS Pace 3 Garmin Forerunner 255 COROS Pace 4 Garmin Forerunner 170
US price (maker site) $199 $349.99 ($399.99 Music) $249 $299.99 ($349.99 Music)
Weight 29-30 g nylon band, 35-36 g silicone 49 g (46 mm) 32 g nylon band, 40 g silicone 41 g
Display 1.2 in transflective, always-on 1.3 in transflective MIP 1.2 in AMOLED touchscreen 1.2 in AMOLED, optional always-on
Smartwatch battery Up to 15 days Up to 14 days Up to 19 days Up to 10 days
GPS, standard 38 hours 30 hours (GPS-only) Not listed 20 hours (GPS-only)
GPS, all systems 25 hours 25 hours 41 hours 14 hours
GPS, dual-frequency / multi-band 15 hours 16 hours 31 hours Not listed
Water rating 5 ATM 5 ATM 5 ATM 5 ATM
Training load Not stated on maker page Yes Not itemised Yes
HRV Not stated on maker page HRV status HRV tracking HRV status
Race predictor Not stated on maker page Yes Yes Yes
Running power Not stated on maker page Yes Power-based workouts Yes
Navigation Turn-by-turn and breadcrumb routes Courses, point-to-point, breadcrumb Breadcrumb routes, off-course alerts Courses, point-to-point, breadcrumb
Music Built-in audio support Storage on Music model MP3 storage Storage on Music model

Which is better for…

Stay in the loop

Get the latest insights delivered straight to your inbox.

Beginners

The Pace 4 offers an AMOLED screen, a race predictor, marathon plans and MP3 storage for $249, which covers what most new runners need. The Pace 3 at $199 is the cheapest entry point in this group. The Forerunner 170 costs more but brings Garmin’s training readiness and HRV status.

Marathon training

For long race days, the Pace 4 has the largest claimed GPS budget here: 41 hours in All-Systems mode and 31 hours in dual-frequency mode. Among the older pair, the Forerunner 255 adds a course- and weather-specific race predictor and multi-band GPS rated at 16 hours.

Battery

The COROS watches lead on the makers’ figures: 19 days for the Pace 4 and 15 for the Pace 3, against 14 days for the Forerunner 255 and 10 for the Forerunner 170. The Forerunner 170’s All-Systems figure (14 hours) is the shortest in the table.

Data and coaching features

Garmin’s spec tables explicitly list training load, HRV status, race predictor and running power for both the Forerunner 255 and the Forerunner 170. The Pace 4 page lists HRV, race predictions, VO2 max, lactate threshold and power-based workouts. The Pace 3 product page does not itemise these metrics.

Budget

The Pace 3 at $199 is the lowest price on a maker site in this comparison. Garmin’s cheapest current running watch is the Forerunner 70 at $249.99, the same price bracket as the Pace 4.

COROS Pace 3

Still listed by COROS at $199. It is very light, has an always-on transflective screen and claims 38 hours of standard GPS. It suits runners who value battery and low weight over a bright display.

Check COROS Pace 3 prices on Amazon

Garmin Forerunner 255

Still listed by Garmin at $349.99, with some versions showing a 5-8 week wait. It has a MIP display, multi-band GPS and the fullest confirmed set of training metrics among the older pair.

Check Garmin Forerunner 255 prices on Amazon

COROS Pace 4

Released in November 2025 and listed at $249. It moves to AMOLED, adds MP3 storage and claims 19 days of daily use. COROS’s own pages disagree on whether full on-watch maps are supported, so check before buying if maps matter.

Check COROS Pace 4 prices on Amazon

Garmin Forerunner 170

Launched in May 2026 at $299.99, or $349.99 with music storage. It brings AMOLED, training readiness and HRV status to a lower price than the Forerunner 570 ($549.99), but its spec table does not list multi-band GPS.

Check Garmin Forerunner 170 prices on Amazon

Frequently asked questions

Is the Garmin Forerunner 255 discontinued?

No. In October 2026 Garmin still listed it at $349.99, and $399.99 for the Music version.

Is the COROS Pace 3 still sold?

Yes. COROS listed it at $199 in October 2026, alongside the newer Pace 4.

Which watch has the longest GPS battery?

The Pace 4, at a claimed 41 hours in All-Systems mode. Among the older pair, the Pace 3 claims 38 hours of standard GPS against 30 hours GPS-only for the Forerunner 255.

Do any of these watches have full maps?

Garmin lists courses, point-to-point navigation and breadcrumb trails for the Forerunner 255 and 170, but no maps. COROS lists breadcrumb navigation for the Pace 3 and Pace 4.

For triathlon-specific picks, see our triathlon watch guide.

Sources

Checked 18 October 2026.

Buy Smarter Gear

Honest reviews and the best value picks, researched for you.

Enjoyed this article?

Join WearableGearReviews for exclusive content and updates.

Subscribe Free
conner mcdonald
Written byconner mcdonald

Conner McDonald compiles Wearable Gear Reviews' buying guides and comparisons of smartwatches, fitness trackers, rings and smart glasses. Every specification and price comes from the manufacturer's own pages and is dated; the guides compare published figures and do not claim hands-on testing.